AHS Coven Roundup and Halloween

american-horror-story-coven-2You guys probably noticed that I didn’t comment on American Horror Story last week. Well, I was a little disheartened by last week’s episode.  There was some stuff going on that I just didn’t feel were particularly necessary.  And the one thing I hate in horror is when the writer does something just for ick factor.  There was a lot of ick factor last week:  the Incest is the Best storyline with Frankenwiener, the Is that a Cowbell or Are You Just Happy to See Me event with Queenie and the Minotaur— it was just too much for The Belle.  So I didn’t say a lot.

This week, the show was redeemed!  I’m not really surprised.  Every season has had a mediocre episode followed by the bombshell Halloween episode. This season was no different.  Marie Laveau has permanently cemented her place in my heart with this week’s badassery. Hell hath no fury like a voodoo queen scorned.  I won’t spoil it, but let’s just say that the Civil Rights Movement might have sped along a little faster if they’d let Marie settle some of the disputes.  I actually kind of like that we’ve got some social commentary going on this season.   I was also pleasantly surprised that Delphine and Queenie seemed to be coming to an understanding.  Perhaps old Madame LaLaurie will be the one getting redeemed this year.

The theme this week was obviously:  When you mess with one of us, you mess with all of us.  As I mentioned on Twitter, there were a lot of checks being written that asses can’t cash.  Never cheat on a witch– her Coven will come after you.  Never hurt a witch– her Coven will come after you.  Never gang up on a witch– her Coven will come after you.  They may hate one another, but nobody else better fuck with em.  Which brings me to the double-edged sword of this week’s episode for me:  the witch council.  I hate complicated political structures in paranormal fiction.  Remember that stupid vampire power structure in the Sookie Stackhouse books? The Volturi in the Twilight series?   Yeah… I hate shit like that.  You’re freakin’ witches. I think a governmental body is a pretty moot point.  However, I loved the three actors that played The Council.  If these kids had been the Volturi, it would have been entertaining.

Coven did one thing extremely well tonight, though.  The Southern Gothic element was portrayed with the mysterious reverence it deserves.  If you’re an author who is trying to pinpoint how to capture that atmosphere, watch the encore episode and take notes.  It doesn’t get more perfect than this.

Happy Halloween, kids!  Have a spooky, sexy day!  And don’t forget to tune in tomorrow when I’ll be all about my RELEASE DAY!  That’s right, I have a new quickie from Ellora’s Cave dropping on Friday, Nov. 1st! So come back and see me!  You never know… I may give away a free book!

 

One thought on “AHS Coven Roundup and Halloween

  1. I loved last night’s ep, too, obviously. It scared me at the beginning; I wasn’t sure AHS was up to the challenge of the real life horror of that first event. But they pulled it off – VERY satisfying.

    Like

Leave a Reply

