Loving Dangerously Blog Hop: How J.J. Abrams Made Me a Trekkie

Loving Dangerously 1Greetings, Earthlings!

Now y’all know I love a good blog hop and this one I’m particularly excited about because it’s all about sci-fi erotic romance, one of my new favorite subgenres.  I say “new” favorite because I never really liked the “hard science fiction”/ space opera genre really.  Of course, I liked Star Wars.  It’s something I grew up on.  But as for Star Trek, Issac Asimov, and the like, I wasn’t really a fan.  I always felt lost in the story with all the invented vocabulary and long, drawn out explanations of fictional technologies– I admit it, it gave me a headache.

Case in point:  this summer’s Superman movie.  Unlike the Christopher Reeve incarnations, this year’s attempt at making Superman was very difficult for me.  One:  I don’t read the comic and there was lots of stuff that you’d really only know if you’re an avid reader of the current Superman comic books.  Two:  It was really spacey.  In the past, we’ve focused on Clark Kent/ Superman’s life on Earth with his loving adoptive parents and tenacious reporter, Lois Lane.  In this summer’s movie, there’s all this spacey stuff that takes place on Krypton that quite frankly, I didn’t understand.  I needed someone to step past the “fourth wall” and explain shit to me.  Like… what the hell is the codex?  What is that superjuice we’re putting in baby Superman?  Basically, all I got out of that movie was that Henry Cavil is really smokin’ hot.

J.J. Abrams– TO THE RESCUE!!  The best movie this summer, by far, was Star Trek Into Darkness.  And I hate spacey movies, remember??!! To give credit where it’s due, J.J. Abrams made me like “spacey stuff.”  He took all that otherworldly stuff that I hated about hard sci-fi and made it accessible for someone like me who ISN’T a science nerd.  Oh, and by the way, every time something weird happens that non-Trekkie me didn’t get, Mr. or Ms. Information had a little speech to explain it all.  Another thing that sci-fi stuff often loses is characterization.  Authors and filmmakers alike seem to fall so in love with their world-building that they forget to make the characters relateable.  And it really is important to have a firm, well-developed character if he or she is going to walk around with a lobster on his/ her head.  Abrams accomplished this expertly in both Star Trek films.  Every character has depth, strengths, weaknesses– even the ones we may only see for 10 minutes throughout the entire film.  And each character has his/her turn to shine, which in turn helps me buy into the believability.  And last but not least– Into Darkness had the one thing in particular that made it better than any other movie this summer, spacey or otherwise– Benedict Cumberbatch.  And I’ll just stop there, because that’s a whole other blog post.

Now that I have this newfound love of sci-fi goodness, I’m super excited to read the Loving Dangerously series by A. M. Griffin.  It’s an erotic little space opera with alien invasions, space pirates and a smoldering temptress.  Check out the blurb:

Kane Epps divides his life into two distinct parts—before the alien invasion and after. dangerously yours coverBefore the invasion, he had a pregnant wife and a high-powered job. After the invasion, he’s left with only himself and his hatred for all things alien. He channels his bitterness by captaining a vessel of renegade humans—space pirates who don’t think twice about taking what they need.

Princess Sa’Mya is on the run. She and a few trusted advisers fled her home planet only to be captured by the sexy, dangerous Captain Epps. He claims to hate aliens but can’t seem to resist touching her or kissing her…everywhere. As Kane introduces Sa’Mya to ever-increasing, unimaginable realms of pleasure, the princess becomes determined to earn his trust. She’s used to getting what she wants. And this time, what she wants is Kane Epps.

Buy Links:

Ellora’s Cave: http://www.ellorascave.com/dangerously-yours.html

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Dangerously-Mine-ebook/dp/B00AO5CWSY/

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/dangerously-yours-am-griffin/1115474805?ean=9781419945243

Sounds pretty sexy huh?  I can’t wait to read Dangerously Yours.  But wait… there’s more!  There’s an amazing contest going along with the blog tour.  Enter to win tons of prizes, including Amazon gift cards, A.M. Griffin swag bags, and lots of other treats! Each stop contains an awesome quote from a science fiction book or movie. They are all found on out-of-this-world photos. Figure out what movie or book the quote is from and post in the Rafflecopter by clicking the quote photo below. DON’T post as a comment on the blog stop! That’ll give away the answers.

Quote 2_7

Have fun and good luck!

 

One thought on “Loving Dangerously Blog Hop: How J.J. Abrams Made Me a Trekkie

Leave a Reply

