feetYes, boys n’ ghouls, its that time of the year again.  Time for your old pal Lexxx to get away from it all and go on a fabulous vacation!  I’m so lucky because I belong to a family that considers a week-long family vacation to be of utmost importance.  Each year we take off:  myself, my Tally, my 2 sisters, their husbands, my niece and my daddy, and take a trip to the most beautiful of all coastlines.  North Myrtle Beach, SC is quite possibly the most perfect vacation destination for a southern belle like me.  It has miles of wide, soft sandy beach, blue water, sunshine, monuments to redneck culture— it has it all.  Historically, this is also a great writing week for me.  I get totally relaxed and the floodgates open up.  If I don’t finish a great WIP, then I usually make good progress or start something new.  So I’m looking forward to that! Anyway, I thought I’d say a few words as to what will make it perfect for me.

Essentials for the perfect beach vacation:

1.  A fantastic book.  Or 10.  I always take a few books and my Nook with me to read on the beach.  Incidentally, the first Ellora’s Cave book I ever read was lying on North Myrtle Beach.

2.  A drink.  Traditionally, the week of my family vacation is the only time I really  indulge in the spirits.  Most of the time you’ll see me lying on the beach or sitting in the sun with a red solo cup in hand, imbibing something cold and fruity.

3.  A notebook and/or laptop.  I have to write.  Its some kind of imperative, so I’ll be sure to take some writing implements with me.

4.  A perfect swimsuit.  In case you haven’t seen my picture, I’m not Angelina.  I am not what one might call “bikini worthy.”  However, I’ve got it where it counts and I like to flaunt it.  This year I bought two amazing swimsuits that are perfectly pinup.  They look fantastic and I can’t wait to strut it out on the beach.  And as I always say, if you’re self-conscious about how you look in a swimsuit, follow this simple procedure.  A) Walk out on the beach and find the inevitable “speedo guy” with the back hair so thick he looks like he’s wearing a shirt.  B) Pitch your umbrella beside him.  Trust me… you’ll be the belle of the ball.

Alright, I’m off, kittens!  Don’t forget to miss me!  And if you need a scrumptious, sinful summer read, I think I can help you out. As always, click the link and discover something new!  Love yas!

Leave a Reply

