Loki'sGame 200x300(1)Guess whose back? Back again? Noooo… it’s not Slim Shady.  It’s me, yer old pal Sexy Lexxxie.  I’m back on the blog today to welcome one of my favorite authors, and indeed one of my favorite people, to the page.  Siobhan Kinkade is a particular friend of mine and she has a new book, Loki’s Game, that has just come out from Sugar and Spice Press.  She was kind enough to sit down with me and answer a few questions about love, life and where bodies are buried.

**********

1.        How did you start writing?

It actually happened before I realized it. I was just a kid doing a homework assignment for English class. The assignment was to write a new ending for Beauty and the Beast, and instead of writing a few paragraphs, I ended up writing twenty pages. It has been all downhill from there.

2.       What genres do you write in?  Which is the most satisfying?

Too many to count! I love writing paranormal romance, but my first love is horror. So long as I’m doing bad things to people on paper, I’m not tempted to crack skulls in real life.

3.       What sort of “rituals” do you engage in to help you write?

Now I’m going to have to tell on you too! Aside from loud music to drown out background noise, my most successful ritual is the Thursday night write-in at Starbucks with you and Crymsyn Hart.  Not that we actually get much work done for playing on Facebook and dealing with people banging on the tables, but we do at least try.

4.       Tell us about your new book, Loki’s Game.

It started as an accident several years ago. It started out as a short story about a woman who answered an ad in a newspaper that turned out to be for the position of “wife.” It grew and twisted into this convoluted mess involving a pair of shapeshifters (because as you know I suffer from Epic Brain Syndrome). Then out of nowhere something in my brain broke and my hero ended up being a descendent of the Nordic Dragon, Fafnir, and the guy chasing him decided to tell me that he was actually disguised as Loki.

The first draft was submitted two years ago, and after finding a few glaring structural errors, I pulled the submission and went back to work on it. Having finally decided that it wasn’t as stupid as I thought, I revised, rewrote and expanded until it became what it is. And late last year, Kelly at Sugar & Spice Press agreed to take a second look and offered the contract.

5.       Loki is heavily rooted in Norse mythology. Do you often use mythology to inspire your writing?  Where do you draw inspiration from?

Mythology often eats my brain. Something about the power of gods and monsters has always appealed to me. I think it’s why a lot of my work features werewolves, shapeshifters and vampires too. They’re strong and unusual, and a good monster always makes me happy.

The inspiration itself comes from all over the place. Sometimes it’s music, other times it’s the people or situations around me. A lot of what I write is kneejerk reaction to something happening in my life.

6.       This is your first novel-length work.  Did you find it difficult to make the transition from short to long form?

Actually, no. Going back to that EBS from earlier – when your brain works on that epic level like mine, it’s hard to keep it from wandering into novel territory. Plot points and twists come out of nowhere and the characters like to get all snarled up in situations that take pages and pages to resolve.

This is my first published novel, but I have two others sitting on a shelf, waiting to see if I ever go back and fix them enough to sell. Lately it has been harder to keep things short, which means anthology calls with word count limits are like pulling teeth.

7.       What advice would you give budding writers?

If you want to be a writer, then be a writer. Don’t talk about doing it. Don’t second guess yourself. Don’t say “one day I’ll finish something”. And for goodness’ sake, don’t spend all of your time rewriting and revising! Write it, do your self-edits, and let it go. The longer you micro-manage your manuscript, the harder it’s going to be to let it go.

8.       Where can readers find your work?

All over the place! Information on all of my books can be found on my blog, and I’m available on GoodReads, Amazon, Barnes & Noble and All Romance eBooks.

Wait, revise that. My books are available on those sites. I’m not actually there. I’m not for sale… at least, not for cheap.

*************

Now… the important stuff.  THE BLURB!!

Unemployed museum curator Lily Redway responds to an advertisement in the newspaper, thinking she is applying for a job. On the other side of that small, black-and-white box waits two things: a fantasy world come to life and a man named Rowan Keir.

 Rowan is a man with many secrets. He is a shape-shifter, a descendent of old world mythology, and the guardian of a rare and valuable Nordic artifact. He is also being hunted by the god Loki and has spent the last six hundred years outsmarting and outrunning him.

 With the fury of Asgard on Rowan’s trail, Lily finds herself caught up in a real-life fantasy story, a love triangle, and an ages-old war that pitches her into a different world and one very hard truth: All is fair in love and war.

I can promise you, dear readers, that this book is a HOT and amazing read.  Go buy it NOW!

Leave a Reply

