Well folks, it’s a great day for kids of all ages– HALLOWEEN!  It’s my favorite holiday that’s not Christmas.  I’m sure that’s a huge surprise, seeing how I’m so rainbows, sunlight and pink bunnies.  Halloween is the one day a year when it’s okay to be a little strange.  To dress up in costumes and stuff yourself with candy.  To squeal with delight at a ridiculously gory movie.  To admit that you really do like being a little scared.  Halloween is a time of year to embrace our fears and confront our own mortality. It’s kind of like thumbing your nose at the Grim Reaper.

So one of my favorite things to do on Halloween night is to curl up on the couch with a bowl full of candy and watch scary movies.  Preferably with a whole group of people with whom you can share some screams.  I thought I’d share some of the movies that I’ll be watching today/tonight to get me in that spooky mood…

1.  Warlock:  OK, so I have selfish reasons for loving this movie.  Well, maybe not selfish but certainly sexually motivated. See… I have a thing for villains.  I always have.  Since the age of 10, I’ve always preferred the dark and evil character.  They’re just more interesting and I seem to be attracted to their power.  And well… when they look like Julian Sands…. *fanning self*.  Ok… so I may be watching this one alone…

2.  Corpse Bride:  This is one you can watch with all ages.  The Tim Burton movie was a lesser succcess than Nightmare Before Christmas, but I actually like this one better.  The music is great, the message is very positive and I just identify with the Corpse Bride. I also like it because the other female character is actually a nice person that we like and want to see happy. And of course it helps that Johnny Depp lends his voice to the unfortunate Victor.

3.  Sweeney Todd:  Speaking of Johnny Depp and Tim Burton.  This one is NOT appropriate for little ones.  It’s been called one of the bloodiest movies ever and I have to say it comes close.  Fair warning, it’s a musical, but the songs are so complex and beautiful that you’ll be mesmerized.  And of course if you listen to the lyrics they’re quite disturbing…

4.  The Others:  BEST GHOST STORY MOVIE EVER!!  If you haven’t seen this, you are missing out.  I’m not going to say much about it because I don’t want to give any spoilers, but this is positively the spookiest movie I’ve ever seen.

Alright, I’m off to buy more gummi eyeballs. REMEMBER– I’m going to be announcning the winner in the Howloween Blog Hop giveaway TONIGHT!!  So keep on checkin’ in….. Be safe trick-or-treating!

Leave a Reply

