All Things Wicked and Dark

CLICK ME to visit the Blog Hop Link List!

I thought I’d kick off my series of posts with a countdown of my favorite wicked indulgences.  Kind of like that song from the Sound of Music, but dirtier.  No, there will be no raindrops on roses or whiskers on kittens, but more of a countdown of all the Spooky and Wicked things that I like best.  So on with the show….

1)       The Lost Boys:  It’s not Halloween at my house until I sit down on the couch with my popcorn and coke and watch The Lost Boys.  It’s my all- time favorite movie.  It’s got everything:  horror, humor, sexy vampires that actually eat people.  In fact, I’m quite certain that if Edward Cullen sparkled in David’s general direction, he’d tear the whiny bitch’s heart out and eat it in front of him.

2)      Zombie Pin-up Girls:  As anyone will tell you, I aspire to be a part-time pin-up someday.  And my favorite style is kind of a mashup of the traditional 50s style with a bit of horror element.  Think Bettie Page meets Suicide Girl.  Zombie Pin-ups give a whole new meaning to Trick or Treat. 

3)      Goth Playlist Mixed with Sound FX:  Part of the fun of a Halloween party is to create atmosphere.  Music is the best way to do that and I have a lot of favorite things I like to play at Halloween:  The Cure, Nine Inch Nails, Bella Morte, Unto Ashes, The Shroud—all of them will be especially spooky with a few scary sound effects mixed in.  And of course there’s all those Halloween favorites:  Thriller, Theme from Ghostbusters, Somebody’s Watchin’ Me, The Time Warp.  Al of these things can work together to give you chills in all the right places.

4)      Books of Horror and Suspense:  Before writer, I am always a reader.  Since learning to read at age four, I’ve been a consumer of books.  And almost from the beginning I’ve been a fan of all things dark and terrifying.  My first foray into horror was probably the classic Alvin Schwartz Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark.  The illustrations in the first editions of that book were so creepy that they’ve since had to change them because they were deemed to be too scary for children.  Since then I’ve moved on to Poe, Stephen King, Joe Hill, Peter Straub, and countless others.  Which brings me to the purpose of this blog hop….

If you like a little romance with your horror, I would like to offer a little bit of my newest book Strange Bedfellows:  Three to Tango.  This series has it all, vampires, zombies, sex, violence, blood… all the biggies.  But don’t take my word for it—let the excerpt speak for itself…

***************

“How I would love to taste you, ma chère,” he whispered, leaning over to kiss her, then changing his mind and licking her lips.  She whimpered and raised her body, desperate to feel his mouth against hers, but he was having none of it.  André teased her with sweeps of his tongue and little nips of his teeth.  “But I wouldn’t want to spoil you.  Your warmth is a gift to feel against my body.” 

“We’ve waited so long for you, Caliope,” Leo added, standing by the bed and carefully unbuttoning his shirt.  “A beautiful…warm…human lover…”  As he said this, he pulled the shirt away from his shoulders, exposing his torso.  Her eyes followed the contour of his chest, every muscle formed perfectly beneath the pale skin.  Every molecule of her body cried out to touch him, but she kept still, almost afraid.  She clenched her fists at her sides, her whole body rigid.   André reclined beside her, taking her hand and pressing her wrist to his lips, and he began kissing gently along her arm.  Cali watched him, fascinated by the beauty of his skin and the glow of his eyes as he examined every inch of her. 

Leo laughed, sweeping her hair away from her brow.  “I believe you’ve already bewitched our André.  Of course, he’s French and they’re a bit extreme when it comes to love.  They positively smother.”  Leaning down, he kissed her forehead, and she could feel his eyelashes flutter against her skin. 

“But why…” she breathed, trying not to notice as André’s fingertips began to trill across her collarbone.  “Why would you want me?  I’m just a plain Jane…pathetic…nothing…” Her chin trembled as her voice cracked and the tears sprung to the corners of her eyes.  “An idiot like Gavin didn’t even want me.”

André didn’t let her finish, pulling her to him roughly and attacking her lips with a crushing kiss.  “You will be ours now.  The past is forgotten.” 

“What a pretty pet,” Leo whispered, letting his hands roam along the curve of her hip.  “There is nothing left for you out there now, love.  Let us take care of you.”  With that he leaned over, kissing the dent where her torso met her pelvis.  Soft, gentle kisses at first and then suggestive sweeps of his tongue that slid along her skin.  She lay back between them, feeling their hands everywhere at once.  She couldn’t believe she was being so reckless.  Allowing two strangers…two strangers who had already admitted that they were vampires…to caress and kiss her naked body.  Not that she had anything to live for.  Her life for the last several weeks had been misery at best.  If they were willing to offer such pleasure, she would gladly sacrifice herself to their lust.  Her head lolled to one side, watching Leo as he moved up to kiss her throat.  She bit her lip, preparing herself for the inevitable piercing of skin as he bit her, but after several moments he pulled away, licking his lips and staring down into her face.  “You look so frightened, love.  But you’ve nothing to fear,” Leo whispered.

André chuckled and brushed his fingertip over the crest of her cheek.  “The poor thing thinks we’re going to feed from her.”

“Aren’t you?” Cali whispered, her eyes fluttering closed as André leaned over, taking the cuff of her ear between his teeth and nibbling with the lightest of caresses. 

“Only if you ask nicely,” Leo purred, stroking the pads of his fingers along her jugular vein.  “Not that you aren’t quite a tempting treat.  Your blood races so fast, pulsing deep beneath your skin.  So warm and wet—like liquid fire oozing down my throat.”

*********

Sound tempting?  I thought so.  Now… the GIVEAWAY! That’s right kids… I’m giving away a copy of Strange Bedfellows: Three to Tango!  All you have to do to enter is hop on over to Twitter and my Facebook Page (see the links below), give me a follow and a like and leave me a message ON MY FACEBOOK PAGE giving me your email addy (so I can contact you and tell you that you’ve won).  I’ll draw a name at the end of the blog tour (November 2nd) to be the big wiener!!

If I’ve piqued your interest or if you just want to come point and laugh, I can be found at the following locales:

Facebook

Facebook Fan Page

Twitter

 Blog

Goodreads

My books can be found  at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, All Romance eBooks and anywhere quality eBooks are sold.

Be sure to visit the rest of the blog tour!  Everyone has such great posts and giveaways… I know I’ll be hopping to the next stop…..

4 thoughts on “All Things Wicked and Dark

Leave a Reply

