This Thursday I’ve decided to be a little different.  This week’s guest, Jean Joachim, is an absolute genius. We were discussing what she should do for her blog spot and my standard answer is always: Do whatever is best for you.  And she came up with this wonderful idea!  I’ve never had an interview up before, but I thought it sounded like big fun!

Jean is an author of contemporary romance that’s both sweet and spicy.  And apparently she has a gift for snippets that I don’t possess, as after reading just a tiny taste, I’m off to buy my own copy of Now and Forever: a Love Story.  See ya…

******************************

1)      How old were you when you knew you wanted to become a writer?

By age seven I thought being a writer was better than being a doctor. But I didn’t think I
could do it until the ninth grade, when I made up a book and wrote a book report on it because I couldn’t find one the teacher wanted. She didn’t found out, I received a B-. That’s when I thought I could become a writer.

2)      What did you do for a living in your “previous” life?

I spent 20 years in the corporate world working for advertising agencies.

3)      Do you have a family?

Yes, I’m married and have two sons. We also have a rescued pug named Homer.

4)      What genre do you write?

I write contemporary romance and love to read that genre, too. I also like historicals but wouldn’t write them as they are a ton of work and I’m not fascinated enough with history to want to steep myself in it.

5)      Are you a plotter or a pantser?

I started as a pantser and quickly realized being a plotter meant less spinning of my writer wheels, less cutting away and a tighter plot that evolved organically. You can write yourself into a corner being a pantser.

6)      Do your characters ever take over when you’re writing?

Absolutely. They tell me what happened, what to say and sometimes how to say it! And I always listen. After all, it’s their story! LOL.

7)      Do you get inspiration from real people or places?

All my characters are fictional but I do get inspiration from places. Towns I fall in
love with have become the settings for most of my current books.

8)      Would you like to be any of your heroines?

I’d like to be all of my heroines if it meant I’d get to sleep with my hunky heroes!! Seriously, probably not as my heroines have survived harrowing times and suffered big losses in their lives. But maybe, just for one night with those guys…

9)      Would you marry any of your heroes?

With apologies to my husband, I’d marry all of my heroes! Of course that’s illegal,
but since they are fictional, what the heck.

10)  Do you do a lot of editing before you submit a manuscript?

Yes. I edit, edit and then edit some more. I edit the book until I can’t stand to look at it
anymore. Then I submit it.

Now some personal questions (please feel free to elaborate) :

1)      Chocolate or vanilla?    A little of both.

2)      Do you listen to music when you write? What do you listen to?

Absolutely. Music is part of my muse. I usually have a particular piece I listen to for
each book. For my current WIP that takes places partly in St. Thomas, I listen to “Kokomo” by the Beach Boys, constantly!

3)      Favorite color?  Pink (also red and purple – sorry, can’t give a simple answer, I’m a writer!)

4)      Black, white or gray? White or black and white together. Never gray.

5)      Favorite ice cream flavor?  Mint Chip

6)      Favorite line of description from one of your books. “He kissed her awake and made love to her while the day was just beginning and their love was so new.” From “Now and Forever 1, a Love Story.”

7)      Favorite dialogue from one of your books.

“Am I shacking up with your daughter? If you mean am I shacking up with my wife? You’re darn right I am.” From book about to be pubished, “April’s Kiss in the Moonlight.”

8)      Favorite minor character from your book.

I have several.  Jonesy from the Now and Forever series. She’s an older lady who runs the dean’s office at Kensington State University with an iron hand and a soft heart.

9)      Dog or cat? Dog (used to be cat, but I’m allergic)

10)  Country or city? Mostly country but city is nice in the winter.

11)  Beach or mountains? Used to be beach, now the mountains.  Things change.

12)  Skirts or pants? Pants. Too comfortable.

13)  Early morning or late night? Early morning, definitely!

14)  Cruise in the Caribbean or camping in Yellowstone National Park? Cruise. Like the ease of it and the bathroom!

******************************

And now for a sexy lil snippet of Now and Forever: a Love Story… 

He pulled her to him, kissing her neck and unzipping her dress.  “I‘ve been itching to get at you all evening. Ever since you walked out looking like…like…I wanted to jump your bones right here in the living room. Watching those letches drool over you all night didn‘t make it any easier. They can drool all they want, I‘m the one who is going to make love to you tonight,” he said taking her in his arms, after her dress slipped to the floor.

Buy link:

http://secretcravingspublishing.mybigcommerce.com/now-and-forever-1-a-love-story/
(Free prequel, Now and Forever, Callie’s Story is available there, too)

“Now and Forever 2, the Book of Danny” to be released on Nov. 2, 2011.

Hear what critics are saying about Jean Joachim:

From The Pen & Muse, Saturday, Sept. 24:

“Joachim brings in the romance we all know and love. A romance where love conquers all and can withstand just about anything. I lovedMac and Callie’s story about their hardship and their courage to continue. Iloved the interaction between Callie and Mac’s son. From start to finish youare rooting for these characters and don’t want to put the book down. Joachimalways writes great stories of love and passion. Stories like these teach usthat love is stronger than anything else. Those who love contemporary romance will love this book!”

***************************

Well I dunno about you, but I’m totally sold!  So rush out and download Now and Forever so that you’ll be ready for Now and Forever 2, the Book of Danny when it drops on Nov. 2, 2011.  See ya kittens!

2 thoughts on “Throbbing Thursday: An Interview with Jean Joachim

  1. Thank you so much for having me, Lexx. I’m sorry my time is a little off! You were very kind about my work and I appreciate your giving me this forum!! Love you blog…especially the title!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

