Good evening, ladies and gentlemen!  It’s Wednesday night and I’m sitting here all relaxed on the couch.  Just thought I’d stop by and let you all know what I’ve been up to over the last couple of weeks.  I know, I’ve been scarce.  I’m really trying  to do better, but working for a living sucks– lemme tell ya.  I’ve been grappling with the day to day so intensely that I really haven’t had much time to write or think for that matter.  I realize I’m not the only person experiencing this phenomenon, but of course– it’s my blog and I’ll  bitch if I want to.

Bitch #1:  Writers’ Apnea.  Why is it that I can’t seem to get any writing done when everyone else I know in the writing world is turning out finished products hand over fist?  I can’t even seem to concentrate on anything long enough to add 1,000 words, much less several thousand.  Do they make a mask for this?

Bitch #2:  The waiting game.  I’ve got two things in submissions right now and neither of which am I SURE is going to get picked up.  Both of which are close to wire with sending me a gigantic rejection email.  I’m not looking forward to it and I can feel myself being on edge.  One of the projects is my last novel, which I love deeply.  A 75K kinky adult version of Beauty and the Beast. What’s not to love, right?

Anyhow, enough of the bitchin’.  I realize how lucky I am to be a writer that other people might actually want to read.  I’m very lucky to have a job and a husband who loves me and a wiener dog that’s lovingly snoring in my lap even as I write this.  I’m lucky to have friends and family to pick me up when I’m down.  Basically, I really have nothing to bitch about so I should just shut it, right?  That being said, have a little snippet of a little WIP entitled “Bloodflower.”

****************************

She held onto the rail, leaning way over to stare down at the ice cold waves
beneath the sea wall.  She wondered for a moment what it would feel like when the freezing water flooded into her lungs after she couldn’t hold on any longer.
Would she even know what was happening?  Would she try to fight it, screaming and begging for her life?  Would it hurt, or would it be like going to
sleep?  “No, I have to do this,” she whispered.  “It’s the only way to start
over.”  She put her foot out, as if testing the wind, and her fingers slipped around the cold, slippery railing.  “No!” she gasped, scrambling to  regain her footing.  She wrapped her arms around the cold metal and held on, afraid to let go but still afraid to crawl back to the other side.

“Well just go on and do it then.”

The voice came from behind and Willow struggled to turn and look.  “What?” she croaked.

“Jump.  It’s getting late and you’re in my way.”

“Pardon me?”  It was all she could say.  What kind of a person would interrupt an attempted suicide with such insolence. She looked around to the expanse of empty sidewalk that surrounded them.  “There seems to be no shortage of
room.”

“You’re in my favorite vantage point into the harbor.  I come here every night.  So if you’re going to jump, do get on with it.”  He leaned casually on the rail, staring down at her with a pair of eyes that glowed a silvery green in the dim streetlamp.  His stare was a bit unsettling and she had to look away, back towards the glowing eye of the lighthouse on the other end of the harbor.

“Are you planning on standing there to watch?” she asked, trying to keep the tremor of fear from her voice.

“Perhaps.  Though I must ask—are you planning on screaming and begging for your life?  That sort of ruckus always brings the cops around and I’d just as soon keep them out of it.”

Willow narrowed her eyes, turning back to glare at him with unmistakable annoyance. “Are you normally this rude?”

“What do you care?  You’re getting ready to die.”

“Well I’d rather do it in peace…”

“You’re the one talking.”

“You spoke first.”

The man sighed heavily.  “I don’t see the point in arguing anymore.  Just ignore me and do what you need to do.  I’ll even turn around.”  He sighed and turned his back, pulling a cigarette pack from his pocket and shaking one out.  In a few moments, she heard the click of a Zippo lighter and smelled the pungent scent of burning tobacco.

************************

So if you like what you’ve been reading, my books are available from Amazon.com, Bookstrand, allRomanceEbooks and anywhere quality eBooks are sold.  Go check me out!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.amazon.com/Second-Skin-ebook/dp/B005HSCW92/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1317254629&sr=1-1

http://www.amazon.com/Hellsong-ebook/dp/B0047GMH54/ref=sr_1_2?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1317254629&sr=1-2

 

Leave a Reply

