Throbbing Thursday: Sara York

Hello kids!  It’s Thursday morning and you know what that means– time for another venture into the mind of an erotic romance author.  This week’s offering comes from author Sara York.  She’s going to give us a little bit of insight into True Love and it’s place in erotic romance.  Enjoy!

****************************

True Love in a Story

I believe LOVE is severely underrated in today culture.  Money, lust and power have always been in the way of love, but now love even has to battle indifference and laziness. People put love last, settling for less because love takes work.

Like love, writing takes work too. Every book I write or short story I pen has a taste of the love I have for my husband buried somewhere in it. Working it Out, one of my newest novels, if filled with passion and love.

Sometimes the cheep imitation of signs or sensations are confused for love. We make sue wit the fresh breeze on a walk or the scent of roses when we’re with our partner that makes us feel giddy, but real love doesn’t need those false signs to move us into love. Sure they help, but love is much deeper.

In a story I do use little things to make the characters feel romantic. A certain touch, or look, the smell of cologne or the color red. It’s all a play on our senses to get my characters to that point of falling in love. And yes, I do fall in love with my characters as I write them since they
are the embodiment of some part of my relationship with my spouse.

In Working It Out Jake and Lance work through their beliefs about the gay lifestyle, living in a southern state and being gay and working in the fitness industry and being gay. They overcome tremendous odds when life gets difficult.

Passion and lust brings them together, what they don’t expect is to fall in love.

Jake Grant is a sexy personal trainer not looking for anyone after his long-time partner passes away. He’s ready to throw away his dreams by selling the gym just to get away from the ghost of his past. But once he meets Lance everything changes.

Lance Abbott is an orthopaedic surgeon who specializing in sports medicine and is completely in the closet. He is convinced that if his clients found out he was gay they would all leave his practice and he would have to abandon the work he loves. When he meets Jake, a man who is totally out, all of Lance’s perceptions about being “out” are challenged.

 Passions and lust drive Lance and Jake together. But they soon find out their relationship is deeper than the physical heat between them. Can what they have last without anyone finding out? Or should Lance give up his insecurities and embrace Jake fully?

I hope love touches your life soon if you haven’t already been touched. If you already have someone in your life you love, hold them a little tighter tonight and think of all of their good qualities as you slip into sleep.

Excerpt from Working It Out:

His face heated. Great, just what he needed, a full blush to be shining as he confronted Jake and begged for  forgiveness. Lance squared his shoulders and marched forward. He hesitated
before tapping on the office door then opened without waiting for Jake’s response.

He stepped through and shut the door without glancing at Jake. Once inside, he took a deep gulp of air and levelled his gaze with Jake’s, shocked by the murderous glare shooting his way. Jake switched the phone from his left hand to his right, never glancing away.

“I’ve got to go.” Jake raked his eyes over Lance. Menace flowed from the man. “No, just a problem that came up. Nothing big.”

Jake hung up the phone, rolled his neck and clenched his fists. A frown twisted his face, his eyes unforgiving.

Lance wondered if he’d misjudged Jake. “I’m sorry.”

“About what?”

“The way I treated you.”

Jake jumped up and came around the desk.  He was big and intimidating. Lance cringed and shied away.

Jake stopped, putting up both hands. “I’m not going to hurt you, but I think you need to leave.”

Lance stood his ground, hating the fear rolling through him as his heart pounded with desire. It had been years since he’d been in a relationship. Hell, the few dates he had would never count as a true relationship. The difficulties of dealing with love made him crazy. He
didn’t want to be the type of guy who never opened up, but managing hurt egos and demanding drama queens wasn’t his style either.

“I’m not leaving before I tell you how sorry I am for the way I treated you.”

Jake grimaced and looked away, his face flushed. “I felt like a piece of meat.”

“I’m not good at relationships. I shouldn’t have dismissed you so callously.”

Jake stepped forward. “You need to leave.”

Lance didn’t back down. He held up his hand and placed it on Jake’s chest. Desire shot to Lance’s groin. Jake flexed his muscles, heat radiating off his body. The man felt good and sensuous under Lance’s palm. He knew it was only his imagination. Jake wasn’t coming onto him but his heart sang.

He looked up into Jake’s eyes, afraid of what he’d see. He was shocked to find Jake smiling. Lance smiled back.

“You’re blocking my way?”

Lance swallowed, trying to overcome his fear. “Yeah, I’m blocking you and I’m not letting you past.”

“Interesting. Not many guys would stand up to me when I’m angry.”

For a split second Lance thought about reaching up and pulling Jake into a tight lip lock, but he couldn’t, not until they had more of an understanding. “I’m not too smart when it comes to relationships.”

“You’ve implied that before.”

Lance kept one hand on Jake’s chest and slid the other one down Jake’s side to his hip.

His breathing grew deeper as he thought about how good Jake felt pressed up against him. Memories of Jake’s muscled back and thighs made Lance want to plaster his body against Jake’s.

The air grew thick. Jake inched forward. Lance’s heart hammered in his chest and his knees went weak. A knock sounded at  the door and Lance jumped back. Jake looked wounded.

For more information about Sara York books visit my website at http://sarayork.com

**********************

Whew… I think I’m having memories of Jack’s muscled back and thighs– and I’ve never even met him.  But I think I’m going to HAVE to run out and download Working it Out and curl up for a little quality time with my Nook. See ya later, kittens!

One thought on “Throbbing Thursday: Sara York

  1. Sara York says:

    Thanks Lexx for having me today. I just spent a few days on a very romantic cruise. Love is certainly on my mind and I will be starting a new book that is very sensual and romantic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

