Six Sentence Sunday: Bloodflower

Ah, Sunday… that day of the week when we get to tick down a list of fabulous writers, reading their best and brightest in six sentence bursts.  Its one of the only things that make Sundays bearable for me.  I’ve never liked Sundays– they’ve always been boring and melancholy for me.  And this Sunday, I think we all have reason for a little melancholy.  Today is, of course, the ten-year anniversary of the 9/11 tragedy.  I’m sure we all remember exactly where we were and what we were doing on that fateful morning.  I was teaching math to a bunch of third graders.  And I still remember that overwhelming sense of fear and sadness as clearly as if it were yesterday.

I think about my life and how different it is now, and it’s still a bit spooky.  The whole world has changed since that day and we’ve all had to change with it.  My point is— change IS living and going on is all we can do.  It’s the American spirit and that’s what’s gotten us through the last ten years.  BUT… why dwell on past tragedies?  I think we owe it to our heroes to have a little fun today.  To show the world that we’re Americans and can’t be kept down!  So without further ado, a little taste of Bloodflower, my current WIP and amazingly, its a vampire piece!

*************************

“We’ve only just met, friend.”  He reached down and grabbed Toboggan Man by the throat, lifting him high off the ground.  “It wouldn’t be polite not to have you for dinner.”  Before he could scream, the vampire bashed him twice against the bricks behind him, shattering his skull and leaving fragments of gray matter and bone behind.  As the man fell limp in his grasp, the vampire stole another look at the girl and saw that she was dazed with the
shock.  He tossed the man aside, leaving him to ooze his blood slowly onto the pavement beneath him.

*************************

I love a badass vampire….

Don’t forget to check out the rest of the SSS crew at:  http://sixsunday.com/  .  And of course if you like what you see, you can find all my current releases at http://www.sugarnspicepress.com and http://www.allromanceebooks.com/ .

11 thoughts on “Six Sentence Sunday: Bloodflower

Leave a Reply

