Good morning, kittens!  I’m feeling extra good today because its one of those precious days off from work!  Don’t get me wrong, I like my job.  Some days teaching is the most wonderful thing ever, but that doesn’t mean that I can appreciate things like sitting on my couch with the dog, still in my pajamas, watching “Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman.”

It’s okay.  Go ahead and laugh… I’ve heard it all before.  I know I don’t seem like a person who would like a wholesome family show like Dr. Quinn, but I have some memories attached to that show.  My mom and I used to watch it in two hour blocks when I was on summer vacation from college.  Its kind of like reading those old western romance novels without having to actually read them.  You have the feisty heroine that’s smart and too mouthy for a woman of her time.  The wild and free hero that’s really a symbol for sexual awakening.  And of course a cast of sterotypical western characters:  the crotchety old shopkeeper, the dirty saloon owner/pimp with the roguish charm, et cetera, et cetera.  I can’t help it.  I love that show!  It’s a guilty pleasure that I like to indulge every now and then.

Everyone has their own guilty pleasures.  Things that would be detrimental to their “image” if other people knew about them.  But I say let it all hang out.  Confess all those 80s One Hit Wonders that you secretly love.  The cheezy movies that you watch faithfully everytime they’re on.  Don’t be ashamed that you read all the Twilight books religiously as they came out, all the while complaining about how awful they were.  Guilty pleasures reveal those hidden parts of our personalities that we rarely let others see.  I’m always interested to peer into other people’s lives.

So what’s your guilty pleasure?

3 thoughts on “Guilty Pleasures

  1. My pleasures are my pleasures. I do not feel guilty about them.

    I’ll watch Deadliest Warrior, recite all the dialogue to Ice Pirates, freely admit I can sing every song on the Big 80s channel and admit I read Harlequin and Stephen King. 90% of the history I know, I know from music.

    I like cheesy horror movies, and I can almost always find at least one truly scary moment in any movie. I liked every song on Rolling Stone’s 10 worst songs of the 90s. I use decorative art non-ironically.

    Like

    1. LOL… I love Stephen King novels and cheesy horror movies. I also sing bad 80s and 90s songs at the top of my lungs in the shower. The remake of Fright Night was a religious experience for me. All hail guilty pleasures!!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

