A Day Late and a Dollar Short…

Available August 13th from Sugar and Spice Press

So I’m sitting here preparing my Six Sentence Sunday post thinking that it will be the week before the release of “Second Skin.”  I wanted to put a link back to my awesome publisher’s website in the post.  Out of curiosity I wanted to see my cover on the “Coming Soon” page (again, I like to see my book cover on someone other than my sister’s facebook page).  To my extreme delight, it was there, looking all beautiful and sexy.  And then I saw that I had been telling people THE WRONG RELEASE DATE. Good job, Lexxx… you moron, you.  The book actually comes out THIS SATURDAY, August 13th.  NOT August 20th as I’ve been thinking all this time.  But I’m not surprised.  I’ve been so insane crazy this week that I’m surprised that I even remember that I’m a writer.  I surely haven’t thought about any writing except for writing schedules, lesson plans and letters to parents.

Now that I’m going back to school, I’ve been thinking a lot about our education system in this country.  My husband told me today that our esteemed Superintendent of PUBLIC Education here in South Carolina, refused money from the federal government to HELP our PUBLIC SCHOOLS.  I mean, isn’t that his job— to protect the children of our state?  I’ve come to the conclusion that teachers are the most trod-upon, bullied professionals in our country when they should be the most respected.  The vast majority of people in this country are educated in our public schools, yet people seem to be hell-bent to destroy them.  Teachers are constantly blamed for the inadequacies of our society– bad parenting, lack of funding, lack of parental support and the lack of importance placed on education.  We complain that the Japanese and other countries are so ahead of us in education, but its not because our kids aren’t as smart– far from it.  In my small town I’ve taught some of the brightest.  The problem is that even though we make speeches and say that education is important, the cold, hard dirty truth is that– it isn’t.  Case in point:  Me:  Johnny, why don’t you have your homework today?  Johnny: I had a soccer game last night and I didn’t get home until late.  Pardon me, shouldn’t your child’s most important job outside the home be school?  Nothing should be more important and if soccer or baseball or football or swimming is keeping your child from getting his or her homework done, then perhaps they shouldn’t be doing it.  I’ve also heard the excuse, “Well he’s a talented football player.  He could go pro someday and what will he need with book learning?”  Do these people not realize that 1 in a million people that WANT to play pro sports actually make it to the pro leagues?  And what about that knee that gets shattered playing high school ball?  Its just so infuriating because our kids have so much potential.

Anyway, off my soapbox for tonight.  I’m off to relax with some friends in Second Life.  My Second Life is way more carefree…LOL

BTW…. if you can read this—- GO HUG A TEACHER!!

3 thoughts on “A Day Late and a Dollar Short…

  1. Oh, dear… I suppose that means I need to get off my duff and actually get that pimpage post finished up and scheduled for this weekend. *grin*

    As for the school thing… cheer up, sweetness. The first week will be over soon and you’ll find your routine. As far as the state and the refusal of money… I think that speaks volumes about the institution itself, and the trials teachers have to face. Yes, I get that a Friday without football in the South is one step above heresy, but if the kids aren’t educated enough to understand the numbers on the scoreboard, then the school systems should realize that they have a huge problem.

    Rooster and I were actually talking about this tonight, and while I can understand the need to keep the Feds out of our school systems, I cannot see any justification in turning down enough money to really make a difference to these kids.

    *steps away from the soapbox*

    See what happens when you leave that thing lying around??? Back to my point – we’ll push the book from all sides (what better way to pimp than give a 6-sentence teaser?), and school will be okay despite the raging case of stupids.

    Like

  2. How about a virtual hug? *HUGS* I agree with you about the education issue. It doesn’t make any sense.

    On a brighter note, new book! Will pimp it on both blogs tomorrow.:)

    Like

  3. I totally agree my dear. I have been fighting with the schools for two of my children who have learning disabilities and I always get the same line. We don’t have the money to do that. You don’t have the money to educate my child because they can’t learn like the other kids. My kiddos are super bright little buggers. This year none of them are going to public schools, 3 are in a charter and the last is doing online courses for his GED.

    I will be pimping out the bookage too!! Let me know if you wanna guest blog !

    Like

Leave a Reply

